GroundSignal
Local decisions

Follow a project through the records.

A proposal, an approval and a completed project are different events. These permanent timelines and published records connect the evidence and identify what remains unverified.

795 published records and 16 reviewed projects · Source review 2026-09-06. Selected coverage; this is not a complete list of municipal activity.

795 from AI-assisted research of meeting records.AI-assisted researchHow this was researched and checked

Showing 301–350 of 481

2024 · City Council33 on this page

Amended (recorded), Mar 20 2024 · Evidence

Engineering purchase order increase for the Cumberland watermain

AI-assisted research

On March 20, 2024 the City Council approved, on its consent agenda, a purchase order increase of $38,878.57 to Civiltech Engineering, Inc. for the Cumberland Watermain Project. The staff memo reports the original engineering design contract was $177,757.50 and cites added oversight for work in state highway right-of-way and unforeseen field changes. The roll call was 5–0.

Contract award · City Council

Awarded (recorded in draft minutes), Mar 4 2024 · Evidence

Hastings Street water main engineering contract with Mackie Consultants

AI-assisted research

On March 4, 2024 the City Council approved, on its consent agenda, a contract with Mackie Consultants for Hastings Street water main engineering services, including design and construction inspection, in the amount of $64,605. The staff memo and evaluation sheet identify the request for proposals as PW-24-06 and report that Mackie scored highest, although it was not the lowest-cost proposal; the agenda item printed a different number. The roll call was 6–0. Source: draft minutes.

Contract award · City Council

Awarded (recorded in draft minutes), Mar 4 2024 · Evidence

Motor grader and asphalt roller purchases from Casey Equipment

AI-assisted research

On March 4, 2024 the City Council approved, on its consent agenda, two equipment purchases from Casey Equipment Company through the Sourcewell cooperative contract: a compact motor grader for $246,586.10 and a tandem drum asphalt roller for $47,051.76. The staff memos list budgets of $225,000 and $51,000 respectively, so the grader exceeded its budgeted amount. The roll call was 6–0. Source: draft minutes.

Contract award · City Council

Approved (recorded in draft minutes), Mar 4 2024 · Evidence

Ordinance updating the City's building and life safety codes

AI-assisted research

The City Council passed the first reading of an ordinance updating the Municipal Code's construction codes on February 20, 2024 (roll call 6–0) and approved the final reading on its consent agenda on March 4, 2024 (roll call 6–0). The staff memo describes the update as adopting newer International Code Council editions of the building, fire and life safety codes with local amendments, following public seminars. Source: draft minutes.

Ordinance · City Council

Amended (recorded), Mar 20 2024 · Evidence

Towing services contract extension with Lin-Mar Towing

AI-assisted research

The memo states the City pays nothing for tow services; the party needing the tow pays the fees. The roll call was 5–0.

Contract award · City Council

Amended (recorded in draft minutes), Mar 4 2024 · Evidence

Traffic court attorney contract extension with Addis Greenberg

AI-assisted research

On March 4, 2024 the City Council approved, on its consent agenda, the first one-year extension of the traffic court attorney contract with Addis Greenberg, LLC of Northbrook, Illinois. The roll call was 6–0. Source: draft minutes.

Contract award · City Council

Awarded (recorded), Mar 20 2024 · Evidence

Watermain valve insertion contract with Superior Excavating

AI-assisted research

On March 20, 2024 the City Council approved, on its consent agenda, the contract for the Watermain Valve Insertion Project (PW-24-09) with Superior Excavating Company in the amount of $391,396. The bid tabulation from the opening on February 28, 2024 shows three bids, the next lowest at $476,456. The staff memo describes new valves, a hydrant and a short watermain replacement. The roll call was 5–0.

Contract award · City Council

Awarded (recorded), Mar 20 2024 · Evidence

Wheel loader purchase from McCann Industries

AI-assisted research

On March 20, 2024 the City Council approved, on its consent agenda, a contract with McCann Industries Inc. for one new wheel loader tractor in the amount of $231,000, bought through a purchasing cooperative. The staff memo lists a budget of $215,000 for the purchase. The roll call was 5–0.

Contract award · City Council

Awarded (recorded in draft minutes), Feb 20 2024 · Evidence

Pickup truck upfitting contract with Monroe Truck Equipment

AI-assisted research

On February 20, 2024 the City Council approved, on its consent agenda, a contract with Monroe Truck Equipment for upfitting five Public Works pickup truck chassis in the amount of $206,968. The staff memo reports the quotes came through the Sourcewell purchasing cooperative and that the chassis had been purchased separately. The roll call was 6–0. Source: draft minutes.

Contract award · City Council

Approved (recorded in draft minutes), Feb 20 2024 · Evidence

Resolution allowing a no-bid police vehicle purchase

AI-assisted research

On February 20, 2024 the City Council approved, on its consent agenda, a resolution authorizing a contract to buy one Police Department vehicle for no more than $45,000. The draft resolution grants a limited exception from the City's competitive bidding rules, citing supply-chain problems with bids and purchasing cooperatives; the staff memo names a Ford Explorer to replace an older command vehicle. The seller is not identified. The roll call was 6–0. Source: draft minutes.

Contract award · City Council

Approved (recorded in draft minutes), Feb 20 2024 · Evidence

Resolution authorizing electricity supply contract through NIMEC

AI-assisted research

On February 20, 2024 the City Council approved, on its consent agenda, a resolution continuing the City's participation in the Northern Illinois Municipal Electric Collaborative and authorizing the City Manager to sign a contract with the lowest-cost electricity supplier for up to thirty-six months. The resulting supply contract is not part of this record. The roll call was 6–0. Source: draft minutes.

Public record · City Council

Awarded (recorded in draft minutes), Feb 20 2024 · Evidence

Sewer lining contract with Hoerr Construction

AI-assisted research

On February 20, 2024 the City Council approved, on its consent agenda, a contract for the sewer lining project (PW-24-04) with Hoerr Construction in the amount of $503,736.60. The bid tabulation from the opening on February 1, 2024 shows seven bids, with the next lowest at $519,618.68; the staff memo cites a program budget of $600,000. The roll call was 6–0. Source: draft minutes.

Contract award · City Council

Amended (recorded in draft minutes), Feb 20 2024 · Evidence

Traffic signal and street light maintenance extension with H & H Electric

AI-assisted research

On February 20, 2024 the City Council approved, on its consent agenda, a one-year extension of the traffic signal and street light maintenance contract (PW-22-07) with H & H Electric Company. The staff memo reports the extension carries no price change and is the second and final extension allowed; no total dollar amount is stated. The roll call was 6–0. Source: draft minutes.

Contract award · City Council

Approved (recorded in draft minutes), Feb 20 2024 · Evidence

Uptown TIF budget amendment for payments to other taxing bodies

AI-assisted research

On February 20, 2024 the City Council approved, on its consent agenda, an amendment to the prior fiscal year's Uptown TIF budget for intergovernmental agreement payments to other taxing bodies. The staff memo's table raises the payments account from $1,208,103 to $1,345,663. The staff memo says the agreements provide shares of increment, Hinkley Park capital reimbursements and new student growth payments, and that increment above budget and a Park District capital request raised the payments. The roll call was 6–0. Source: draft minutes.

Public record · City Council

Approved (recorded in draft minutes), Feb 5 2024 · Evidence

City Council grants second-story addition variances at 320 N Redfield

AI-assisted research

On February 5, 2024 the City Council approved the final reading of an ordinance granting major variances (VA-24-03) that allow a second-story addition to follow the existing side-yard encroachment of a nonconforming house at 320 N Redfield. The draft ordinance recites the Zoning Board of Appeals' recommendation of approval with one dissent. The roll call was 7–0. Source: draft minutes.

Zoning variance · City Council

Approved (recorded in draft minutes), Feb 5 2024 · Evidence

Dempster TIF Fund budget amendment for surveys and legal fees

AI-assisted research

The staff memo reports that tax increment collection for the district had ended while site improvements continued. The roll call was 7–0. Source: draft minutes.

Public record · City Council

Approved (recorded in draft minutes), Feb 5 2024 · Evidence

Motor Fuel Tax resolution for the street resurfacing program

AI-assisted research

The attached resolution lists the streets to be milled and resurfaced and gives the total project length. The staff memo notes the resolution is required before the contract is bid; the construction contract itself is a separate action. The roll call was 7–0. Source: draft minutes.

Public record · City Council

Amended (recorded in draft minutes), Feb 5 2024 · Evidence

Purchase order increase for alley repairs by Schroeder & Schroeder

AI-assisted research

for the Alley Repair Program. The staff memo reports the project was originally approved at $118,560, was completed slightly over that amount, and that the shared alley account had also covered green alley costs. The roll call was 7–0. Source: draft minutes.

Contract award · City Council

Amended (recorded in draft minutes), Feb 5 2024 · Evidence

Purchase order increase for the Cumberland watermain replacement

AI-assisted research

The staff memo reports the project was approved at $2,235,000 and that unforeseen conditions led to change orders and added quantities. The contractor is not named in the memo. The roll call was 7–0. Source: draft minutes.

Contract award · City Council

Awarded (recorded in draft minutes), Feb 5 2024 · Evidence

Trade contracts for the Fire Station renovation and addition

AI-assisted research

On February 5, 2024 the City Council approved, on its consent agenda, contracts and purchase orders for individual trades on the Fire Station renovation and addition. Cordogan Clark & Associates solicited the bids. The memo puts the total anticipated project cost at $8,421,694, compared with $7,833,564 in the adopted budget. The roll call was 7–0. Source: draft minutes.

Contract award · City Council

Scheduled (recorded), Jan 22 2024 · Evidence

City Council final reading scheduled on a medical clinic special use at 147 N Northwest Highway

AI-assisted research

The final reading of an ordinance granting a special use for a medical/dental clinic at 147 N Northwest Highway was on the City Council agenda for January 22, 2024. The minutes page covering this item is not available in the text corpus, so the Council's vote is not established here.

Special use · City Council

Approved (recorded), Jan 22 2024 · Evidence

Historic Preservation Commission quorum ordinance

AI-assisted research

The City Council passed the first reading of an ordinance amending the Historic Preservation Commission chapter of the Municipal Code on January 8, 2024 (roll call 7–0) and approved its final reading on its consent agenda on January 22, 2024. The staff memo explains the change removes the fixed five-member quorum rule so that the commission, reduced to seven members, follows the Open Meetings Act quorum for its size. The final-reading consent motion carried with one alderperson absent.

Ordinance · City Council

Approved (recorded), Jan 8 2024 · Evidence

Annual bid-waiver purchase orders for the new fiscal year

AI-assisted research

On January 8, 2024 the City Council approved, on its consent agenda, the list of annual purchase orders for which competitive bidding is waived (utilities, government agencies, telecommunications and continuing contracts). The roll call was 7–0. The list sets spending limits; it does not show what was later paid.

Contract award · City Council

Approved (recorded), Jan 8 2024 · Evidence

Budget amendment for grant-funded fire radios and thermal camera

AI-assisted research

On January 8, 2024 the City Council approved, on its consent agenda, an amendment to the prior fiscal year's General Fund budget of $19,818.18 for Fire Department portable radios and a thermal imaging camera. The staff memo reports the equipment was paid for by a previously approved FEMA Assistance to Firefighters grant of $19,818.18 that had not been included in the original budget. The roll call was 7–0.

Public record · City Council

Approved (recorded), Jan 8 2024 · Evidence

Disorderly conduct code amendment

AI-assisted research

On January 8, 2024 the City Council approved, on its consent agenda, the final reading of an ordinance amending the Municipal Code's disorderly conduct section. The draft ordinance adds public urination and defecation to the list of disorderly conduct offenses. The roll call was 7–0.

Ordinance · City Council

Approved (recorded), Jan 8 2024 · Evidence

One-year extension of the City's external audit contract with Lauterbach & Amen

AI-assisted research

On January 8, 2024 the City Council approved, on its consent agenda, a one-year extension of its contract with Lauterbach & Amen, LLP for third-party audit services for the fiscal year just ended. The roll call was 7–0.

Contract award · City Council

Approved (recorded), Jan 8 2024 · Evidence

Ordinance limiting regulated parking spaces to vehicle parking

AI-assisted research

On January 8, 2024 the City Council approved, on its consent agenda, the final reading of an ordinance adding a parking space utilization section to the traffic and parking chapter of the Municipal Code. The draft text provides that regulated parking spaces may be used only for parking vehicles unless a special event permit or outdoor café license allows otherwise. The roll call was 7–0.

Ordinance · City Council

Awarded (recorded), Jan 8 2024 · Evidence

Three-year VoIP phone contract with Comcast Business Voice Edge

AI-assisted research

On January 8, 2024 the City Council approved, on its consent agenda, a three-year contract with Comcast Business Voice Edge for City-wide Voice over Internet Protocol phone service in the amount of $80,606.80. The staff memo reports that the request for proposals drew many responses, that Comcast was the high-scoring responsible proposer, and that its price was the second lowest offered. The roll call was 7–0.

Contract award · City Council

Approved (recorded), Jan 8 2024 · Evidence

Water and sewer rate increase ordinance

AI-assisted research

On January 8, 2024 the City Council adopted, on its consent agenda, an ordinance amending the Municipal Code section on utility billing rates. The staff memo summarizes the increases: the water rate from $8.92 to $9.81 per thousand gallons and the sewer rate from $1.74 to $1.91 per thousand gallons, citing rising costs including Chicago water rate increases. The roll call was 7–0. The ordinance number is not printed in these records.

Ordinance · City Council

2023 · City Council17 on this page

Approved (recorded), Dec 18 2023 · Evidence

Ordinance setting the number of available liquor licenses for the coming year

AI-assisted research

On December 18, 2023 the City Council approved, on its consent agenda, the final reading of an ordinance establishing the number of available liquor licenses in the City for the next calendar year. The consent agenda roll call was 7–0. The ordinance number and the license counts are not stated in the minutes.

Ordinance · City Council

Awarded (recorded), Apr 17 2023 · Evidence

Street resurfacing program contract with Arrow Road Construction

AI-assisted research

The City Council approved, on its consent agenda, the street resurfacing program contract with Arrow Road Construction Company for $2,057,592.89, the lowest of six bids opened on March 22, 2023; the next-lowest was $2,218,000. The consent agenda vote was 7–0.

Contract award · City Council

Extended (recorded), Dec 18 2023 · Evidence

Two-year extension of the food scrap collection franchise with Collective Resource

AI-assisted research

On December 18, 2023 the City Council approved a two-year extension of the franchise agreement with Collective Resource, Inc. for food scrap and compostable items collection services. The roll call vote was 5–1, with Alderperson Sanchez voting no and Alderperson Biagi abstaining. The dollar value is not stated in these records.

Contract award · City Council

Amended (recorded), Dec 4 2023 · Evidence

Electricity purchase order increase with AEP Energy Service

AI-assisted research

On December 4, 2023 the City Council approved, on its consent agenda, a budget amendment and a purchase order increase of $25,000 to the water supply and treatment account for AEP Energy Service, for the purchase of electricity as necessary. The consent agenda roll call was 6–0.

Contract award · City Council

Approved (recorded), Dec 4 2023 · Evidence

Motor Fuel Tax Fund amendment and Rebuild Illinois transfer

AI-assisted research

On December 4, 2023 the City Council approved, on its consent agenda, a budget amendment to the Motor Fuel Tax Fund and a budget transfer to the Rebuild Illinois Fund for Rebuild Illinois expenses in the amount of $172,471.43. The consent agenda roll call was 6–0.

Public record · City Council

Approved (recorded), Dec 4 2023 · Evidence

Ordinance regarding the Illinois Paid Leave for All Workers Act

AI-assisted research

On December 4, 2023 the City Council approved the final reading of an ordinance regarding the Illinois Paid Leave for All Workers Act. The roll call vote was 5–1, with Alderperson Biagi voting no. The ordinance's terms and number are not stated in the minutes.

Ordinance · City Council

Approved (recorded), Dec 4 2023 · Evidence

Ordinance regarding the Public Safety Employee Benefits Act

AI-assisted research

On December 4, 2023 the City Council approved the final reading of an ordinance regarding the Public Safety Employee Benefits Act. The roll call vote was 6–0. The ordinance's terms and number are not stated in the minutes.

Ordinance · City Council

Approved (recorded), Dec 4 2023 · Evidence

Property tax levy and bond abatement ordinances

AI-assisted research

The same motion approved two special service area tax rolls. The roll call vote was 6–0. The ordinance numbers are not printed in the minutes.

Ordinance · City Council

Approved (recorded), Dec 4 2023 · Evidence

Resolution authorizing a no-bid purchase of a police vehicle

AI-assisted research

On December 4, 2023 the City Council approved, on its consent agenda, the final reading of a resolution authorizing a contract for the procurement of a police department vehicle without competitive bidding. The resolution text authorizes a contract not to exceed $45,000 and expires after six months unless renewed. The consent agenda roll call was 6–0. The vendor is not established by these records.

Public record · City Council

Awarded (recorded), Dec 4 2023 · Evidence

Rock salt contract with Cargill

AI-assisted research

On December 4, 2023 the City Council approved, on its consent agenda, a contract for rock salt with Cargill in the amount of $147,110.40. The consent agenda roll call was 6–0.

Contract award · City Council

Approved (recorded), Dec 4 2023 · Evidence

Special service area 22-104 tax roll

AI-assisted research

The roll call vote on the levy ordinances was 6–0.

Special service area · City Council

Approved (recorded), Dec 4 2023 · Evidence

Special service area 22-105 tax roll

AI-assisted research

The roll call vote on the levy ordinances was 6–0.

Special service area · City Council

Awarded (recorded), Nov 20 2023 · Evidence

Ambulance purchase order with Foster Coach Sales

AI-assisted research

On November 20, 2023 the City Council approved, on its consent agenda, a purchase order not to exceed $455,638 to Foster Coach Sales, Inc. of Sterling, Illinois for one Ford ambulance. The consent agenda roll call was 6–0.

Contract award · City Council

Approved (recorded), Nov 20 2023 · Evidence

Complete Streets Policy adopted

AI-assisted research

On November 20, 2023 the City Council approved a Complete Streets Policy on its consent agenda. The consent agenda roll call was 6–0. The policy's terms are not summarized in the minutes.

Public record · City Council

Awarded (recorded), Nov 20 2023 · Evidence

Fire engine purchase from Macqueen Emergency

AI-assisted research

On November 20, 2023 the City Council approved, on its consent agenda, a purchase order not to exceed $1,208,000 to Macqueen Emergency of St. Paul, Minnesota for a Pierce Enforcer pumper, a combination fire engine and squad. The consent vote was 6–0.

Contract award · City Council

Extended (recorded), Nov 20 2023 · Evidence

Two-year extension of the residential solid waste contract with Groot

AI-assisted research

On November 20, 2023 the City Council approved, on its consent agenda, a two-year extension of the solid waste collection services contract with Groot Recycling & Waste Services, Inc. The consent agenda roll call was 6–0. The dollar value of the extension is not stated in these records.

Contract award · City Council

Recorded step (recorded), Nov 6 2023 · Evidence

Cannabis dispensary overlay district text amendment fails

AI-assisted research

On November 6, 2023 the City Council considered the final reading of an ordinance amending the Zoning Ordinance to create cannabis dispensary overlay districts. The minutes report that the Planning and Zoning Commission did not recommend adoption, so approval required a supermajority. A motion to amend the ordinance's language failed 1–6, and the original motion failed 3–4, so the text amendment was not adopted.

Ordinance · City Council

Read the findings that connect these records